16
Mar
11

1 week on

I can’t believe it is only a week since my initial post about my health and I have been overwhelmed by the response I have had from everyone. All the well wishes, comments and words of support have meant an awful lot and has helped me gain strength and confidence in dealing with everything.

I was discharged from hospital on Saturday and staying with my parents  until I am fit enough to look after myself again, they have been amazing.

Being an architect I have followed the development of the amazing Maggies centres and have visited a few of them purely from an architectural perspective. I never considered that soon I would be handed a leaflet detailing the services they provide and advised to visit as a patient. The work they do is tremendous and as I find out more about bowel cancer and the treatment that I will be going through the more I realise what an important part they play in providing support and advice to cancer sufferers.

 

hope is important

The above photo was taken at The Maggie Centre in Dundee designed by world recognised architect Frank Ghery with the statue in the foreground by Anthony Gormley. I named the photo at the time from an album by Idlewild which seemed to suit the mood of the photo with it’s dark clouds and silver lining.

I contacted my oncologist today but I still have to have a full consultation. I can’t start treatment until I am fit which my surgeon thinks will be 3-4 weeks from now so there is no hurry although I am keen to know what I have in store. I know now that the cancer I have is one of the most common in Scotland but treatment and reaction to treatment can vary from patient to patient.

Although I am eating, I still seem to be losing weight. I could never have been described as thin but I actually feel thin for the first time in my life as the fluids that were pumped into me in the hospital wear off or redistribute. I never thought putting on weight would be such a challenge for someone like me who has always eaten well but after nearly 3 months of not being able to digest anything and almost constant sickness, my body is finding it hard to adjust.

The sun is shining today for the first time since I got out and I am going to take the opportunity sit in the conservatory and relax for a while.

 

16th march 2010, need a shave and a haircut!

Just as I am completing this post I had a call from the oncologist confirming my first appointment this monday…

24 Responses to “1 week on”


  1. 1 Sarah Grech
    March 17, 2011 at 11:42 am

    thinking of you xxxx

  2. 3 Sean Scally
    March 17, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Hi Jon Marc,

    Wishing you the very best towards a speedy recovery and a happy St Patricks Day from Ireland.

    Best Wishes,

    Seán Scally

  3. 5 jason brown
    March 17, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Jonny,

    good progress & keep on eating!

    There was a good piece on radio 4 yesterday regarding the the design of the maggie’s centres

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00zf33k#synopsis

    Once you have made a full recovery ‘which you will’,
    your personal experience will be most invaluable when you are appointed to design the next maggie centre!

    jason

  4. 7 PAMELA BURNS
    March 17, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    If only a strong Guiness was the answer Jonny, stay strong. Thinking of you. X

  5. 9 Roisin Scally
    March 17, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Hi Jon Marc, Dad sent on your updated post. Wishing you all the best from Dublin. I hope your getting stronger by the day. Get well soon and keep us all posted on you recovery!

    Roisin

  6. March 17, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Hello Jon!

    Sending you positive and warmest thoughts from the BIG apple. You will beat this and come out stronger then before!

    You’re in my thoughts.
    Keep smiling!
    🙂

  7. 13 Martin mcbride
    March 17, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Hey Jonny it’s wonderful to hear how you are progressing in your journey. I will continue to offer prayers for your full recovery and the provision of strength to help you face whatever is demanded of you in the coming days, Take care and God bless Martin 🙂
    Ps I will pop round to check your mums
    windows, make sure they’re still ok!!

  8. 14 scarpadog
    March 17, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Hi Martin,

    They moved a few years agp, not far from my place, catch up soon.

  9. 15 Melanie Best
    March 17, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Hi Jon Marc,

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery…keep strong and smiling!

  10. 17 Sam P
    March 17, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Glad to hear you have the appointment with the oncologist. As with most things, being in control and knowing, allows you to think a bit more in the present.

    Keep getting better. See you on the hill soon!

    Sam

  11. 19 NaNuK
    March 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I was so sorry to read of your illness, but it seems to me u r a strong person, so surely u will defeat this obstacle….and eventually….. keep on climbing on mountains, or life in all senses!!

    keep the good mood with perfect appetite…
    🙂

    NaNuK

  12. 21 Michele Carver
    March 18, 2011 at 12:31 am

    Hi Jonny,

    Thanks for keeping us updated. Keep eating the porridge and big plates of Mash. xxxxx

  13. 23 John Mac
    March 18, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Hey, stick in there. Sounds like things are moving in the right direction.

    Get your old Shamen albulm out, pick ‘Move and Mountain’, and blast out the volume..!


Leave a Reply

