31
Mar
11

getting there

I never thought I would be celebrating putting on a few pounds but having lost over 3 stone in the space of three months it is a fairly significant achievement. Hopefully it will last into my chemotherapy treatment as that can have an effect on my appetite which I am just enjoying getting back. The operation I had involved a bowel bypass and it takes the body time to adjust. I couldn’t keep any solid  food down while in hospital and was fed by a drip until I could at least take some soup. Slowly things are getting back to some sort of normality and at times it is actually strange to think I have a serious illness. I have been taking build up supposedly fruit flavour drinks to help build my strength again. They are disgusting but probably necessary right now. Maybe Heston Blumenthal could stop wasting his time on submarines and look into making these drinks actually taste at least half decent or even vaguely like the flavour on the bottle!

31st march 2011

I don’t know why I didn’t post a pic last week as I was hoping it would show how I have improved each week so I have posted this one. It is amazing what a good haircut and a beard trim can do!

Since my last post I have heard that I seem to be suitable for a clinical test. I don’t have any details yet other than it introduces a third drug to the 2 that I was initially prescribed. My next consultation will be with the professor running the trial on Monday afternoon. I am keen to be involved and interested to see what drug is being tested. Hopefully being a trial there will be closer monitoring of my condition as well as the addition of a third drug. There is always the chance that the side effects may be increased but I would rather attack the source of the bigger problem and deal with the short-term side effects. I actually find it very difficult to read about the technicalities of bowl cancer and prefer the experts to tell me what I need to do to get better and just get on with it.

My condition has had a huge effect on my life outlook. I really lived life like I was invincible and I have plenty of time to do all the things I want to do and achieve everything I want to. There are so many things I haven’t done that I wish I had. I have nieces and nephews and everyone knows how much I love them all, but I have no kids of my own. I never wrote off having children but it just hasn’t happened for one reason or another and chemotherapy isn’t going to help matters. I have also wanted to travel a lot more and this will be restricted for a while anyway until I can get this thing under control.

I have been getting back into doing some work and have been back into the office a few times now, however I have had to temporarily give up my role as vice chairman of lanarkshire business group and step down my involvement with the Glasgow Institute of Architects. Until I am a few weeks into my chemotherapy I really don’t know how much I will be able to do but my health and well being will be taking priority from now on.

I am still receiving get well wishes and cards from everyone and they are greatly appreciated. One of the biggest expressions is of the shock that this has happened. My understanding is that screening for bowel cancer is only encouraged for those over 50 and I can only assume that the unlikelihood of me having this condition is why I had been through so many blood tests, ultrasounds and GP visits before I eventually ended up in hospital. To think I could have bought a self test kit for £12 out of boots if I had suspected this is quite frustrating now.

I am being treated this weekend to a trip to Gleneagles and dinner at Andrew Fairlie‘s restaurant there. Thank God I have my appetite back! Unfortunately I won’t be able to use the pool etc with my wound still not fully healed.

I will have more news on my treatment next week and hopefully more weight gain!

6 Responses to “getting there”


  1. March 31, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Looking good! Keep it up! Wishing you all the best and strength to win this.

  2. March 31, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    enjoy the mini break to gleneagles…………. mmmmm luxury!

  3. March 31, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    As a deffo over 50 I have very recently received a test kit via the NHS screening prog. Last time, for a variety of reasons, I didn’t do it. I am doing it now! Not for the squeamish but I’m not squeamish.

    Hugs; look forward to a nice lunch soon. And it’s still phwoooaaarr…. xxx

  4. March 31, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    You are looking much better! Glad to read how positive you are. Although my recent operation was voluntary I, like you, certainly take a different outlook in life. Hopefully see you next week if you’re up for it.

  5. April 1, 2011 at 8:40 am

    The anoymous woman again! Its wonderful seeing you looking strong and smiling – your positive attitude is bloody amazing man! You have educated me – am going out to get a kit today and encourage all I love to do so too.
    Knowing your Dad I can see where you get your strength of character. Stay well and enjoy the food! x


Leave a Reply

