09
Apr
11

in limbo

gleneagles 02 april 2011

My title isn’t meant to be negative but just reflects the fact that now I feel fit enough for the chemo I am keen just to get started! I was due to start this week (6th April) but following consultation on taking part in a clinical trial I won’t start treatment until 20th. I have been told to build up my strength and enjoy myself until then! The trial will involve 3 separate drugs all administered intravenously which will mean I will be an inpatient for a few days at the Beatson every 2 weeks. Although I will be an inpatient I will be able to work to a certain extent but I am keen to set myself a task and maybe even get to write the book I have been thinking about for a while.

I have had a busy time since my last post including hospital visits, consultations, a weekend away and doing a bit of work.

My early 40th birthday treat , a night at Gleneagles Hotel including dinner at Andrew Fairlie‘s was just what I needed. It is really expensive and extravagant and probably a bit of a one-off but it really was good. Downside was that I couldn’t use the spa facilities which I usually love. I did treat myself to a few glasses of wine which went down really well.

dinner at andrew fairlies

The weather has taken a turn for the better and it almost feels like summer today. I will be 40 by the end of this month and looking back at the post I made at the end of 2010 I still intend on doing all the things I said I would in my resolutions although they may take a bit longer than I thought at the time.

I actually enjoyed my first proper visit to the pub this week of 2010 to watch the football, after new year I had hardly ventured out at all and had no will to. I had usually came home from work and collapsed on the couch and not moved until I had to. The feeling of looking forward to going out, even if just for a few hours, is great to have back and hope it lasts when the chemo starts.

I am really eating well again and enjoying every minute of it. My weight has crept above 13stone now which means I have gained about half a stone since getting out of hospital and my little character on the wii no longer turns into mr blobby when I stand on the balance board to weigh myself!

Another consultation with oncologist on Monday and a visit to the nurse to see if my wound is improving, it is taking some time to heal but just in the area where I am bending over or stretching to get up and down.

I have a few pounds on the national today, lets see if my luck is changing……….:)

2 Responses to “in limbo”


  1. April 9, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    I hope you win big! good luck!

  2. 2 Michele Carver
    April 10, 2011 at 12:44 am

    You are looking a bit brighter. I’m glad to see you had a nice weekend away. Take care ;)xx


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Recent Posts

rss feed

my twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


